You’ve flown the coop! card

These days, there’s always someone leaving work to go to a new job. In my workplace, there are many more men than women, so this card is geared around a male colour scheme, though I couldn’t resist putting in some flowers and glitter!

You've flown the coop! card

You’ve flown the coop! card

I started with the lovely Cheery Lynn reflections boutique die (Royal Coved Rectangle DL192) – I needed something large so that everyone has room to sign it. I found a designer paper with a monochrome print of a world atlas and spritzed it with Glimmer Mist in Patina and Delphinium to carry the blue tones through (I cut the curved corners by hand to match the card base).I added the Marianne Design Moroccan Birdcage (LR0146) in a dull silver card to simulate a metal finish, and used the Marianne Design Fantailed Dove (LR0149) to show who’s flying the coop. I inked the edges of the bird pieces with some Distress Ink (Vintage Photo) to add depth, added a black rhinestone for the bird’s eye and a bit of Kindyglitz Crystallina for sparkle.

I cut out the Cheery Lynn Congratulations die (B289), and the letters for the rest of the sentiment (Slightly Script Fond FS104) from the same dull silver card, and placed the main elements on the card.

On the inside, I cut out a smaller size of the Reflection Boutique die in a toning blue patterned paper.

Flown the coop - inside

Inside detail

And then I had fun adding flourishes! I used the Cheery Lynn Grass Border die (B126) along the bottom edge of the card – I divided the die cut in two and added colour with Viva Décor 3D stamp paint (Moss Green, Walnut Brown and Lime Green) and put the bottom edge of the cage between the two pieces. I cut out Fanciful Flourish Left (B292) from a toning brown designer paper  and put part of the die cut twined into the cage bars. I added part of the centre flourish from Japanese Lace and Flourish frame (DL137) in pale blue at the base and added a couple of paper flowers from my stash. Of course I Kindyglitzed the flower centres too.

To match the front detail, I added the rest of the Fanciful Flourish die cut and the other Japanese Flourish to the inside of the card.

I thought it still looked a bit plain, so I grabbed the cut out pieces from the Reflections die (both the blue and the brown), and stuck them on to the Japanese Flourish pieces to form flower heads – and then I added some pale blue and black iris seed beads to the centres for extra bling.

Flown the coop - inside detail

Here you can see the “flowers” I made from the cut out pieces

Here’s another couple of pictures showing the details!

Flown the coop - detail of flowers

Flown the coop – detail of flowers

Flown the coop - detail of grass

Flown the coop – detail of grass

Love that bird cage, with the cute little opening door!

Flown the coop - detail of birdcade

Flown the coop – detail of birdcade

I have entered this card into the Cheery Lynn Designs Challenge “Add a Flourish”

http://cheerylynndesigns.blogspot.com.au/2014/02/cheery-lynn-designs-challenge-118-add.html

4 comments

  1. Meredith Great card. Love the shape you have chosen. The sentiment goes great with that card. I like the grass along the bottom. Thanks for joining us in the Cheery Lynn Designs Challenge. Best of Luck to you

    1. Thanks, Debbie! That grass die just has so many possibilities, doesn’t it?

  2. What a wonderful card, love those little flowers and all the added detail from the dies. Good luck and thanks for joining in on the fun at Cheery Lynn Designs challenge.

    1. Thanks, Sandy! Glad you liked it. I thought the colours came together well and I do love playing with my dies. 🙂

Leave a comment